Rat Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to this forum, but I am mainly joining to find resources for my rat that I just adopted today. I was hoping to just pop in and get my questions answered, but it won't let me do that unless I post here. As you can tell from my user name, my name is Kelly, and my rats name is Motley. I was oringially planning on getting a hamster from the store today, but fell in love with her personality and silliness. The people in the pet store weren't very informational, and I want to be sure I'm doing my best to care for her. If anyone could please answer these questions, it'd be very helpful!

1.) Will she be okay alone? I was originally going to purchase 2 rats, both Motley and the one that I was being kept with her, but the women who sold me her said they would do perfectly fine on their own. Sine this is my first time owning a rat (I've owned almost every domesticated animal aside from them), I thought I would start off with one. However, after reading some resources online I'm hearing keeping them alone is a terrible thing to do.

2.) Any ideas how to socialize her? She's not aggressive, nor terrified, but she does hide every time I reach in to say hi to her. She took a treat from my hand earlier, but cowers away when I attempt to pet her.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hello Kellyandmotley,

I too, am new to the forums. I joined because I wanted to get some questions answered before I decided to purchase pet rats again. I used to have two male rats when I was younger and I thought I'd help you with your questions the best I could using my experience.

1.) I think that it is normally best to get a companion for your rat. They are very social animals and sometimes your socialization is not enough however, having one rat is perfectly fine as long as you make sure to give her plenty of attention. They are very loving animals.