Rat Forum banner

Have you ever had to force-feed your rat antibiotics?

• Yes, and we have never been the same.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, but it did not seem to affect him at all.

• No, because he ate it in (baby food, peanut butter, etc, etc.)

• No, because he liked his antibiotics.

• Total voters
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On baytril and he won't take it mixed in anything.

Twice a day, I have to force him to take it by "shoving" (not hurting) the syringe in his mouth. I try to make the whole experience as quick as possible for him.

I've had PLENTY of experience with this as I've fostered dozens and dozens of kittens, many of which had to take Albon for internal parasites this way.

The cats, on the one hand, seem to recover emotionally rather quickly, but Terrance seems much less happy about being picked up at all. I try to encourage him before, during, and after he takes it, but he still seems more on edge than normal. Oh, I should mention that his infection hasn't really been bothering him behaviorally, so that's most likely not the cause of his seemingly on-edge...-ness.

What can I do to make this force feeding less detrimental to our bonding?

·
Registered
40 Posts
Bribe him with something he loves afterwards, and talk softly to him. It does work, but there may be a period of sulking. They get over it though. xx

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
What have you tried mixing it with? Baytril is pretty icky, so if you have a picky rat you'd probably need something with a strong taste to overpower it. My rat ate it mixed with plain oatmeal, but I probably could have just squirted it into his mouth, as long as he got a yogie afterwards. He was very easygoing.

·
Registered
187 Posts
I've had to force feed a few of my rats. Some take it better than others. Some have given me the cold shoulder for a while after but they quickly got over it.