Rat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got 2 baby rats and they're my first rats ever. I've been researching rat care for almost 2 years to try to prepare myself to be a good rat mama but now I'm concerned I still don't know all I need to. For instance I have a male and female siblings named bean and squirt respectively. Bean is very energetic and has eaten and goes to the water often. He likes to hang out in the highest part of their cage and is more comfortable being held as the person i got them from worked with him on that. Squirt however is my biggest concern. She stays in a corner at the bottom of the cage and doesn't move much except to go up top with bean in the morning to cuddle/sleep. I've never seen her eat or heard/seen her drink. Every time I hear the water bottle clicking I check to see if its her but its always bean instead. I found out that their mom was bought as a feeder and raised but is often very sickly. I'm worried about any health issues for both my babies but especially squirt since she doesn't do much. The person I got them from also later informed me that her rats previous litter had all passed due to illness and some of my babies siblings were showing similar signs but didn't know for sure what the illness could be. I know I've said this like 3 times already but I'm just so scared I might lose one or both my baby rats. Does anyone have insight or ideas?

·
Registered
898 Posts
Hi and take a deep breath, you are very concerned and rightly so. First, separate the boy and girl rat as they will breed in the blink of an eye, even at 5-6 weeks old. Squirt may not be getting enough food and water due to shyness, so this way you'll be able to see exactly what she is eating and how much she is drinking. You can tell us more, like what kind of cage, how old they are, what type of bedding, what kinds of food, etc. The more information the better ;)

·
Registered
1,462 Posts