Rat Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey what's up all, this is my first time venturing out of the "Rats Needing Homes" forum :p.

Well I've taken on a MONSTER project that I think I got a little over board with but it's to late to turn back now so I might as well finish it. So here is the plan.

I'm currently in the progress of building a new cage for my friends. It's going to be 3 feet wide on all sides and 5 feet tall. Now this appeared much bigger then expected when I put the dang skeletal structure together :p.

I'm using 3/4" 480psi PVC pipe as the skeletal structure for this cage. It uses elbows to form the corners with a 1/2" screw in connector to go across. I use a converter to attach a 1/2" 600psi PVC pipe across.

This makes four 5' pipes of 3/4" 480psi that go up and down. Four 3' pipes of 3/4" 480psi that go front to back and four 3' pipes of 1/2" 600psi that go from left to right. That forms the box of the skeletal structure.

Here comes the expensive part. For the walls, I'm using 1/2" metal hardware cloth. This will be used as the walls, floors, ceiling, ramps, just about everything. Something slightly shorter then 1/2" screws will be used to hold the walls into the PVC pipe while zip ties will be used to hold the floors in space, I'm currently testing to see if the dang rats will chew up the zip ties in their current cage and so far so good, they prefer to rip apart the bedding that I use to catch their mess... and of course make it completely useless.

I have no idea how many floors I'm going to make, I suppose I'll figure that out as I go along, the more floors, the more money so .. I've already spent almost 80 dollars and probably will have to spend more. Their current cage sits on a dresser and this new cage will sit next to it. A connector that I will build of course out of hardware cloth will be used to connect the two cages so they can go from one to the other.