Rat Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

After trying to decide between rats and a hedgehog for the past few weeks, I went to a local reptile show here and found some nice fancy rats on sale. It's a few weeks early, but I'm glad to have come across them. Their cage is still in the mail, so I'm making due with a large plastic tub for now.

Two blue girls and one hooded girl. So far, they seem to have only 2 speeds; super hyper-active or sleeping. Even on "sports" mode, the photos of them while awake are all blurry.

Still no names for them! Any suggestions? I'm particularly interested in learning if rats respond to certain sounds better than others. I've been an ESL teacher for almost 10 years now, so I would like to try working their commands and names around the phonetics that they're most responsive to. I assume pitch is most important, since their hearing range is different from ours.

Thanks for any tips! Photos attached!

Eye Rodent Rat Iris Fawn

Dog breed Rodent Carnivore Felidae Whiskers

Felidae Whiskers Carnivore Fawn Small to medium-sized cats

·
Registered
865 Posts
You seem like your going to be a really good rat mom ❤

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for your support everyone!

Everything is going great so far! Tonight is nearing the end of day 3 and things are progressing nicely. I think the breeder must've made some effort to socialize them a bit.

Day 1 - No touching, I just let them adjust.

Day 2 - stroking with fingers, only picking up to clean the cage. All three tolerated it easily.

Day 3 - picking up and holding for a few minutes each, plus playing with them in a separate pin outside the cage. All three did great! Aside from getting pooped and peed on several times by the hooded girl. Haha no big deal though.

Even though I raised feeder rats in the past, it was several (14ish) years ago, so some things did surprise me.