Rat Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I adopted two female rats last Saturday, it's my first time adopting (yay!) and first time having more than one rat at a time (I know it's better that way, but when I was younger I was only allowed to have one) so some of this is really new to me. They came in together by the way, so they already know each other. Anyway, I read beforehand that it's better to let them get used to the cage for the day, then slowly try to bring them out. The last couple of days I decided to just leave the cage open while keeping an eye on them since I did that for my other rats in the past. I figure it's better to give them a chance to come out on their own if they are ready to explore a little bit. Neither of them have, but Jasmine gets really close to coming all the way out, while the other, Rory, barely even peaks her nose out. I thought maybe Jasmine just needed a little boost so I tried to grab her but then she just looked really fearful and I didn't want to push it. The last thing I want to do is rush them before they are ready, but I figure they would be bored in there by now? I guess I'm just looking for some general advice on this subject. I wouldn't want to take too long to where they'd never want to leave the cage and live a dull life, but I also don't want to force them out if they absolutely do not want to. Is it just too soon?