Rat Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!!

I'm a newbie rat owner (since late last fall). I've been reading voraciously but I thought I would join this community to have somewhere to bounce questions. I'm a moderator of a horse forum and also belong to a dog forum as well.

I acquired my ratties through the Humane Society I do social media and marketing for. They were surrendered in a big glass aquarium (pine bedding) with what looked like bird feed and Oxbow. They were well-handled (supposedly every night) and very friendly. One had two noticeable tumors. No one was adopting them and I really enjoyed playing with them so they became mine.

My first switch was to get them out of the aquarium and into a more well-ventilated situation without the pine bedding. I looked into foods and decided to just go with the Oxbow and supplement with fresh fruits and veggies (and the occasional dog treat here and there).

Unfortunately, the rat with the two tumors is no longer with me. One was under her arm- benign by my estimation as it was just a small ball free moving from any muscle tissue. It did grow a little in the time I had her, but not like the other. The other tumor was between her back legs, under the tail. It was definitely malignant- you could tell just by looking. It grew dramatically each week, and eventually became big enough that it was impeding her movement. The Humane Society vet said I brought her in precisely at the right time and humanely put her to sleep.