Rat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
971 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - I'm new to the ratties, but they are so much fun! :)

We've had our little babies (5-6 week old cuties) for 4 days now, and they LOVE crawling all over the place. As soon as I get to their cage, all of them are clambering to get out and explore. They'll go down my shirt, all over my shoulders, nibble on my hair sometimes, eat treats occasionally from our hands, and generally learn about this big world.

BUT each and every one of them is NIPPY!!! They arn't biting, they aren't scared... But those teeth go around my fingers every time I go near them! And Blaze just did it out of the blue on the webbing by my thumb! This is driving me bonkers since I got bit time and time again when I was about 5 or 6 by my hampster that I remember as hating me (tho my mom thinks he was nice... yeah... sure. I was 5 with a rodent). So I get juumpy when teeth get placed on my flesh.

Any ideas? I think they are happy as clams, but I want to make sure that I do well by them, you know?

Anyways, I'm about to go brace myself for some more play time with my plethera of furry girls... (all the girls from the dumbo litter of a reputable pet store that breeds them FOR PETS and sells them at an appropriate price for it... We're friends with the owners so we paid for one and got the rest for free - they had a BIG litter of close to 20!) OK, explaination over, PLAY TIME!

~Krystie :mrgreen:

·
Registered
486 Posts
They are "testing" you.
If it's just small little nibbles, that don't hurt, then it's because you are new and wonder what your hands are.