Rat Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two males, both 5 months of age. Today they got A LOT of out of cage time. When I put them back, Ashe (my super lovey, cuddly one.) went and curled in a corner. Is it because he's just tired? When I opened the doors he licked my hands but didn't make any motion to get out as usual. He is grooming himself normally but he just isn't as hoppy and lively.

·
Registered
383 Posts
I'm no expert, so take this with a grain of salt.

Just like humans, rats have their own personalities and moods. They may be in the mood for something one day and not so much another time. If it's consistent, then it may be worth worrying about.

But I'm going to go into scary territory. Don't take this to mean that there is something wrong with your rat. In my limited experience, your rat still sounds fine. He's licking and grooming. My first rat death was with my first rat after 3 days. She suffered an URI, which I probably could have caught if I was more aware. I knew that rats sneezed a lot when moving to a new place, but I didn't know how much, so I didn't catch this URI in time. What clued me into her health problem was her behavior. She became sluggish. I noticed that there were fecal stains on her backside. Now that I've had rats for 3 months, I know just how clean those normally are. Chloe was not grooming like she used to. She was so sluggish that when I had her on the table, she weakly sidled over to the edge and fell off. Fortunately I was there to catch her.