Rat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So today I finally went out and got some fleece to switch to fleece bedding so I can save money and just wash them instead of throwing the paper bedding away and replacing it. Well anyways since I put it into the cage my rat is acting strange. He seems to avoid it by either climbing up his cage or going into the hammock. He'll even take his food into the hammock to avoid walking on the fleece. I thought fleece is really safe for rats and yes its 100% fleece. Is it possible he allergic to it and it bothers his feet? Or is he just not use to it? I would hate to have switch back to paper I hate that paper bedding.

Thanks!

·
Registered
8 Posts
You could try cotton cloth or old t shirts, maybe? My guy's paper bedding was dusty and made him sneeze so i switched to just using paper scraps/ paper towels. I'm not an expert though

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't really have old t shirts since I don't have a lot of clothes to begin with. I guess I can try cotton but I've heard horror stories that if they chew on the cotton they can choke or something.

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
The rat probably just needs time to get used to the fleece. Rats are always a little confused about strange things in their environment, especially if they have been used to a certain bedding before that point. I think that your rat just needs some time adjusting. You can give your rat positive associations with the fleece by feeding him yummy things there and only there (unless he is so uncomfortable that he will not even take treats on the fleece).

·
Registered
71 Posts