Rat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My big rattie somehow got a hold of a hard plastic whiffle ball this weekend while I was gone and chewed up about half of it. This is the day after, and hes acting completely normal.

Me and my mom (a nurse) both felt his tummy and nothing felt different from the previous week. We achieved nothing but learning Mr. Peebles likes having his tummy rubbed...

I wont be able to reach a competent vet for about two weeks, is there anything I can do, or should I even be worried?

Right now he's spread eagle on a heating pad I set up so he'd be most comfortable....HELP!!!!

·
Registered
468 Posts
Well, I'm not an expert, but I've read on here that rats actually have muscle flaps on the sides of their throat, so they don't swallow things besides food, since they're made to chew on things to keep their teeth down. So he probably didn't actually eat it, just chewed it up.

I don't think you should really worry, but I'd wait for someone with some more experience before deciding whether you should take him into the vet.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you!
I've heard that too and- ew, he just peed on me...-its just that I searched his cage but could'nt even find a scrap...

·
Registered
468 Posts
Yeah...I'm not really sure what they do with the pieces. I've never really read a straight answer about that one. Someone did say that maybe they just stash them somewhere...but I'm not sure. Sorry..:/

·
Registered
229 Posts
I thought my little Dust was eating her wooden puzzle ball, because I couldn't find scraps anywhere either... and I was watching her chew on it, so I know for a fact she's not just taking the scraps away and storing them.

I was worried too, but someone here who has 35 rats explained that they can't find any scraps from what their rats chew on either. It must be normal to not be able to find any scraps.