Rat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
549 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was going to buy my boys some parrot fruit/seed mix from the store where I work as an occasional. Then I noticed that there were some dried hot peppers in the mix. And I started thinking, is it ok to give them hot peppers? I'm more afraid they would get capsaicin on their hands and rub their eyes than anything else. Has anyone ever given their rats hot peppers? I not sure theyd eat them but chances are good they'll atleast touch them.

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
i wouldnt be giving my girls hot peppers at all... matter of fact, i dont think i would be giving them bird seed either.

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
Upset tummy would likely result.

And seed mix isn't very good for them anyway.

·
Registered
549 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
upset tummy
Ill stay away from the peppers then

Forensic said:
And seed mix isn't very good for them anyway.
I know a lot of seeds aren't good for them. Its mostly dried fruit and it wasn't going to be a diet staple anyway, just a once in a while treat, like something i put a few pieces of into a toilet paper tube and give them to play with

*edited bc double quote is to much for me

·
Registered
353 Posts
when the only thing i had to feed my rats was parrot food i took out the pepper things as well as the raw peanuts...and id feed them people food and veggies when we had them.....*sigh* i miss my boys...i hope they r happy

·
Registered
30 Posts
Peppers that aren't spicy are ok...since it's in a parrot mix, I'd say it's safe to assume they are chilies. I regularly feed red and green bell peppers, mild jalapenoes, and other non-spicy peppers to Splinter and she's ok. I have to be careful, because Connor (our Conure) eats the same food as the girls, so I have to watch out for spicy peppers I sneak in the food. I gave one to Splinter and it gave her diarhhea. Bad Mommy, BAD!

·
Registered
981 Posts