Rat Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was cleaning the cages about 2 weeks ago and I was in a hurry so my mom offered to put the ratties away. Well I have 4 rats 2 boys and 2 girls and they live in 2 seperate cages boys with boys and girls with girls, since none of them have been fixed yet (I'm saving up to have it done) well I left my mom to finish the ratties and headed out for a 2 day vaca. well when I got home 2 days later I went to the cages to find Ace with Fiona and Kovu with Callie... Not Good! So I've spent the last 2 week praying the girls aren't pregnant. Well Fiona seems fine but Callie has gained weight, shes always been the smaller, leaner of the 2 and now she has a noticably bigger belly then fiona. She hasn't started nesting yet and if she is pregnant she won't be due for roughly 2 more weeks.

So on to my questions... I have no experience breeding small animals, I've only delt with fish and horses. How can I tell if she is pregnant besides the obvious weight gain? if I think she is pregnant what should I do for her? and what the heck am I going to do with the babies? lol any and all advice is needed and appreciated! Thank you!

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
well ive heard tanks are best (you can get one of freecycle or used ones at fish stores for really cheap, where i go its used ten gallon for $10) that way the babies cant fit through the bars or get stuck.

keep the momma seperated from other rats so she and the babies cant get hurt

most rats will let you handle the babies soon after birth, they should be handled from day one

chech for a white line on the belly called a milk band, to make sure they are eating

put nesting material (paper towel etc) so she can nest

seperate the boys and the girls at 5 weeks

good luck!

·
Registered
798 Posts