Rat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
My name is Kaytlin and I'm a pre-vet college student. I've always loved exotics and small mammals. I've owned hamsters, guinea pigs, and ferrets in the past. I currently live in dorms but next year I'm moving into my first adult apartment and I plan on getting rats. I've always wanted them and over the years I've done a lot of research, and I still have plenty of time to get things together. I would be moving in August so I have about 8 months to plan. Being a college student I don't have a lot of money to spend on pets, so I was wondering if there were any suggestions on how to keep rats on a budget? Does anyone have a price estimate if I wanted to keep two rats?

I'm probably going to get the Martin's r-695 as a cage, since its a good size but also easier to collapse if I need to go home for break and I don't have anyone to watch them for me. Other than that, I don't have much else planned out. I want to use fleece since I have used it before with guinea pigs and I really loved how easy and clean it was.

·
Banned
6,244 Posts
Aside from the cage, which you could build yourself or buy used, rats are pretty much dirt cheap to keep... our rats mainly eat leftovers so it doesn't even cost us anything for food, even though I have about 10 lbs of rat blocks laying around for over a year now which they don't eat...

As to toys and such, our rats tend to prefer just to chew up papers, wires and furniture when they are young, but they can be trained to know better...