Registered
216 Posts
OMG! That is the saddest thing I have ever seen. :cry: :cry:
Those poor rats. They just look so sad and lethargic. :(

·
Registered
137 Posts
I feel sick to my stomach.

Just as a sidenote: I work as a behavioral therapist, and have experience working with hording type behavior. It can be a heartbreaking situation, and a very hard one to deal with.

That said, from the details in this story, this does NOT sound like a true case of hording as a compulsion. I say that because a) the person "tried to contact the shelter but could not afford the surrender fee" and seemed to be looking for was to get rid of some of the rats. This is behavior that, while it is possible, I've never seen before in my line of work: most cases I've been involved in I can honestly say there's no way they'd be searching for a way to get rid of some of the rats. It just doesn't fit with the disorder as I've seen it.

So... urgh. To me I have to conclude that this was someone who did have control over their behaviour, and let this happen.

As a further side note... this is very much an argument as to why you don't breed rats without proven lineage. From the rats that survive this ordeal, within two generations their descendants (from further oops litters in homes/etc.) it will most likely not be known to their owners what has happened here, and they could even end up in pet stores or the like. Read the article again, and look at how negatively the inbreeding effected their overall health... my rats came from a pet store, and I love them to death. They're the two sweetest, tamest, most beautiful rats in the world... but they'll never be bred, because you just can't KNOW if something like this is in their lineage... maybe not this severe, but inbreeding oops litters are very common, and you just can't know for sure without a proper history going back generations.

·
Registered
216 Posts