Rat Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I was volunteering at the humane society yesterday morning and playing with the rats. I guess I must have startled a poor rattie because he bit my index finger and wouldn't let go. I stayed calm ad after he finally let go, blood started gushing out and dripping onto the floor. Today, part of my finger is swollen and I can feel pain on the palm of my hand. I put Neosporin on it. Am I being paranoid? Should I go to the doctor? I would rather not.

·
Registered
383 Posts
I'm no doctor.

But pain on the palm when you were bitten on your finger? And your finger is swollen? Might be worth having a doctor check it out. Sure, bites will be swollen, and I don't know if you have a normal swelling or not, but it might not be a bad idea to get checked out.

If I was in your situation, I would.

·
Registered
272 Posts
I think it when it comes to bites of any kind (particularly animal), I would weigh on the side of caution and seek medical attention.

Yes, it's an inconvenient pain, but things like this can get worse and you want to make sure you've been checked out. :)

Please keep us posted.

·
Registered
8,526 Posts
Unfortunately, if pain is spreading it is time to seek medical attention. It could be an infection that will spread worse. Hopefully you'll just be handed some ibuprofen and amoxicillin.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Finger pain spreading to the palm? Ouch :-/ Nerve damage? Keep us updated, that sounds pretty bad

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Okay guys, Update: I think I was just being paranoid and imagined the pain in my palm. My finger is swollen and the swelling has since gone down. Do bites usually swell? I have never been bitten before this.

·
Registered
158 Posts