Rat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:D I have two rats Splinter and Mecha I am new to being a rat owner and am really enjoying how sweet these little guys can be. My question is when two rats are playing together is it okay if one bites the other and pulls it. Now I am not talking a hard bite that will make them sqeak I am talking they grab the fur and drag their friend a little then drop them. Since I am new to this whole thing I don't know if that is just how they play or if they are being agressive?!?! Thanks in advance for the replies. :D

·
Registered
46 Posts
rat_elf said:
:D I have two rats Splinter and Mecha I am new to being a rat owner and am really enjoying how sweet these little guys can be. My question is when two rats are playing together is it okay if one bites the other and pulls it. Now I am not talking a hard bite that will make them sqeak I am talking they grab the fur and drag their friend a little then drop them. Since I am new to this whole thing I don't know if that is just how they play or if they are being agressive?!?! Thanks in advance for the replies. :D
I was concerned about my rats rough play as well. From what I've read and heard though, rats are just like kittens, they play hard. So long as there's no blood, no chunks of fur missing, or no squeals of pain, they should be ok. Read up on it a bit more and get other opinions too though. I'm still not 100% sure myself, but from what I have heard, it's normal. No blood no foul.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
Pixie is right. No blood, no foul, but its always smart to keep an eye on them. When you have two rats, there is always one who tends to be more dominate. And when they westle and pin each other down, thats exactly what they are doing. They are putting each other in their place, its normal. Like I said keep and eye on them. You can tell a good sqeak from a bad one.

·
Registered
46 Posts