Rat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all,

five days ago, on the first day of winter, on december 22, i got my two ratties

i went to petco to buy them, though they were supposed to be my christmas present, my mom let me go out early to get 'em. all my old rats who have now past on were from breeders. my mom and dad of corse, don't know much about rats and where to get them as much as i do because on the other hand, i have been studying them for 6 years!! (i am turning ten in april so almost six years.)

i wanted and told my mom to get them from a breeder but she says no, no, no; she doesn't listen.

so i set out to the petco serching for two female rats and i found two females in the same cage. they weren't from the same litter (like they should have been) but they were the only females there. so we bought 'em but it wasn't untill we got home when we found out they were terribly sick. martha, was fine and has a GREAT personality, but is sick a little. eskimo, is VERY sick and has a horrible personality. our family thinks she is not gonna make it. martha bites eskimo back and tries to rip her tail and kill her, this is not playing.

my mom thiks i should take these rats back and get three sisters from a breeder that are from the same litter.

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
Re: sick and suffering rats from petco

how does your mom feel about maybe taking popeye and eskimo to the vet? can you describe what they do that makes you think they are sick? many rats, especially petstore rats, can be a little sniffly when you bring them home because of stress and stuff.

i would give eskimo a few days to calm down, in hopes that maybe she is just grumpy from the move. rats don't necessarily need to be siblings to get along for life, and if you just want to take eskimo back and keep popeye, they will be okay. all rats fight and stuff, so unless popeye is actually drawing blood, there may still be a chance for them to get along.