Rat Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

So I got Snow (my daughter named her) from a friend who's boyfriend couldn't get his snake to eat the baby rat. That's the long story short. Snow is about six weeks old, and currently in my quarantine cage by herself. Because she is by herself, I spend every free moment that I'm home with her on my body (which is a lot since I'm a full time student with military benefits). She generally burrows under my shirt and lays in my bra (sorry if that is TMI) or on my shoulders while I go about my day, sleeping and hardly causing a fuss at all.

I have older rats and have always gotten them in pairs, so Snow's new behavior is interesting to me. She's currently running around underneath my sweater and chasing my fingers, giving them nibbles before darting away. I believe she's playing, but with the trauma of being in with a snake, I don't want to push her too much or misinterpret what she's currently doing. Should I encourage the biting by chasing her around? My older rats love to be tickled on the backside and will bounce and run around, but they never turned around to play bite, so I'm not sure if play biting is a rat thing.

I don't want to get her another companion only to have two in two different quarantine cages that will need a lot of attention to keep from being depressed, and I don't want to just throw two young rats together and pray neither get sick. But I also don't want Snow to learn any bad habits I may regret later. So my question is: Is the biting behavior normal and, if so, can I play with her like this or should I discourage it?

She's still way too small to go in with my big girls and probably will be for a while, so I want to do things right for my little sweetie. Sorry if this post seems half-retarded; it's finals week and I'm pretty exhausted!

·
Registered
265 Posts