Rat Forum banner

Is it better to have too small a cage for two rats? Or only one rat?

• Two rats in a smaller cage

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • One rat in a larger cage

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a big dilemma. I've been dreaming to own a rat for some time now. I've read up all about them and such, but I'm still fairly new to the whole pet rat idea.

I've looked all around my city to find a suitable sized rat cage.
I found that I am unable to build my own, and there are simply no large rat cages in the city to buy suitable for 2 adult rats without requiring a lot of on add ons that I simply don't have the money for.

So I've wound up with a decent sized cage: 24.5' by 12.5' by 14.5'. Suitable for a single rat.
But to my dismay, every single thing I've found concerning pet rats says it is not recommendable to keep them alone, and that same sex pairs are preferred.
But I don't have the money to buy or adapt a cage to fit two rats!
So here is the question. Is it better to keep my pet rat alone? or to get two babies and raise them together in a small cage?

Please help me! Thanks.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Get a ferret cage with 1"x1" sides, and adapt it to fit your needs. Once the rats are grown they will not be able to get through a 1x1 cage. You can make your own shelves and such. Or just build your own cage.... there's lots of suitable materials besides wire. Plywood is easy to work with, and cheap.

I really want to build a cage from Plexiglas with a solid front for viewing, and sides with drilled ventilation holes..... think of an oddly shaped acrylic aquarium with lots of perforations for ventilation.

You can staple wire to a wooden frame, etc. Lots of ways to build stuff - you just have to sit down and start drawing pictures or cutting pieces.

Also check out craigslist - there's often good deals on used animal cages. You could find another small cage and hook them together with a tunnel or something....