Rat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got two baby girls a couple of days ago... The woman at Petco said they were about 6-8 weeks old. This is my first time having rats and I have a few questions. I've read that rats get 'colds' easily. Both Brandy and Coby both sneeze quietly when I take them out to play. Is this a sign of them having any respiratory infections? Sometimes when they are napping, they seem to be breathing hard and they twitch. This worries me. They seem to get along fine. I have an aquarium with a two level attachment made of wire. Is the wire ok for their feet? If not what should I cover it with?

Thank you

·
Registered
229 Posts
Rats are very susceptible to respiratory infections. It sounds like your babies have a pretty bad case, if it looks like their struggling to breathe. Take them to a vet ASAP! If you go back to Petco with the vet bills and complain at them for selling you sick rats they should pay the vet bills for you, provided you can prove it's the store's or the vendor's fault the animal is sick. If you need to, get your vet to write a letter saying that it's obvious these animals have been ill for a while.

More than likely it's actually not Petco's, but the vendor's fault the animals are sick due to bad breeding and unclean living conditions. That's my experience anyways. I can't stand the vendor we get our rats from at work.. they must keep them on cedar or something, because they keep sending us rats with horrible respiratory infections. :cry:

As for the cage, you can cover the wire with a fleece blanket, linoleum tile, or canvas. Even towels will work, but if their claws are long you might want to shy away from those because there's a chance they could get their claws stuck.

·
Registered
293 Posts