Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm out of town until tomorrow, and according to my roommates, Charlotte had babies! They put the babies in a tank like I told them to, but every time they tried to pick up Charlotte they got bit (of course, my most un-people-friendly rat got pregnant.) so I had them put the box of babies (8 so far!) back in the big cage.

The guys say that she seems attentive to them, but I am really worried about my other girls. There are 5 girls in there....should I be super worried about the babies getting eaten???

·
Registered
133 Posts
Re: So, Charlotte WAS pregnant, and I'm out of town.

im no expert but when we breed all are females wanted the baby's for themselves that can also cause a problem if they dont have milk to feed babies. i would say from my little experience that there is a small likely hood of the other harming the baby's but not knowing your rats to well it is hard to say. i will hope for the best for you and hopefully you get back to them soon.

·
Registered
941 Posts

camel24j said:
im no expert but when we breed all are females wanted the baby's for themselves that can also cause a problem if they dont have milk to feed babies. i would say from my little experience that there is a small likely hood of the other harming the baby's but not knowing your rats to well it is hard to say. i will hope for the best for you and hopefully you get back to them soon.
False. They will not harm the Babies. All of our Many Breeder Females never kill the other moms babies. if anything they help her out by moving them. eventually they will get fed because he momma ratties knows how many there are and will look for them.

If I was you I would just leave them alone. Trust me, they'll be fine.

·
Registered
30 Posts