Rat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!!
I'm just looking to get into the world of being a rat owner! I have a couple of questions though...

First of all, male or female! I'm a university student so I can get pretty busy and don't have a ton of money, but I know I can make time for "out time" to play and bond with my rats and get them what they need. I've heard that males are bigger than females and can be more docile, maybe this would make for a better pet? I've also heard that females often develop tumours, and I don't want to be in a situation where my pet needs surgery and I can't afford it... However, I had been sort of leaning towards females. Any input on this?

Next, I was wondering about bedding. The cage that I'm looking into has a wire bottom, so I was planning on using fabric bedding. To better absorb their pee (and thus the ammonia in their pee) would it be a good idea to sew a piece of towel under the fabric, or is that too much of a risk for getting their toes caught? Maybe I could put pee pads or newspaper under the fabric? Any suggestions on this would be greatly appreciated. And then can you literally just toss the fabrics in the washing machine? Is there a specific detergent I should use?

The next thing is nesting and nesting material. Would a ceramic plant pot be an ok spot for this? Or one of those plastic dome houses... or something else entirely! And as for material would tissues like Kleenex or cardboard or paper do the trick? I'm afraid I don't know much about this...

As for feeding, do you guys have any recommendations for brands of young rat food? I was thinking maybe the Oxbow adult food for when they're older, but am of course open to suggestions.

Those are all of the questions I can think of for now... Any other tips and tricks would be extremely appreciated!!

Thanks so much!

Charlotte

·
Registered
Cloud and Dew (Pearl Merle and American Mink, both with Irish markings)!