Rat Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, for a while, I've been wondering about the rats at the PetSmart near me. They've been there for a long time and it seemed like for no particular reason, they looked healthy enough and were absolutely adorable and gorgeous. So today I asked an employee about why they had been there so long, and the story was very puzzling. (To me at least, I have no experience with the stuff)

She said that when the rats were younger they were really friendly and outgoing and gentle. Then the store attempted to introduce them to some older bucks, and that really did not go well, and ever since, the younger rats have been incredibly aggressive towards humans. Like, whenever you put your hand into the cage they will draw blood.

I've never heard of that, has it happened to anyone here? Was the pet store just doing intros wrong? Also, I feel really bad because they'll probably become feeder rats if no one want to take them...

·
Registered
30 Posts