Rat Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This past weekend, I saw an ad on my local Craigslist for a litter of rats for pets or feeders. It was a couple of days after deciding the girl I took in that I thought was pregnant was not (she'd have been overdue and had not grown much more than you'd expect a young rats to grow), and I was pleased she wasn't, so young! But, as I had already found a few homes for babies in a litter, I contacted the woman to say I'd be interested in taking on the whole litter and briefly explained that.

Well, she had already found someone that wanted to buy the whole litter, but took my number just in case it fell through. I told her a bit about myself - that I'm a vet tech at a hospital that has a great exotics/pocket pet vet, with 9 rats of my own, have ambitions to open a rescue in the future (school loans limit my plans to do that sooner rather than later lol), and that I could promise good pet homes for all of them.

But she called me yesterday to say she hadn't heard from that person in a few days and she knew they would have a better home with me, the inflection and wording of sort of struck me as them going as feeders (she didn't outright say it), and that she would rather they go to me. She does want some money, but significantly less than she was asking for, even for feeders. I arranged it so I'm getting them today rather than this weekend, because sooner is better than later here.