Rat Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In a few days I am taking one of my rats to the vet for respiratory issues. This is my first Time ever taking a rat to the vet and I am so nervous. Also because of Covid I won’t be with him in the vets at all I’m just gonna drop him off and wait for him and I’m so nervous because he’s my baby and also hes really unconfident so I’m scared he might jump out of the vets hands or something so can someone plz make me feel better if they have experience with taking rats to the vet.

·
Registered
812 Posts
I've been to vets with my rats plenty of times but I also have my first post-COVID social distancing appointment on Friday and I don't exactly know what to expect. I plan to write a note to attach to the carrier with the basic information (symptoms and concerns). I'm guessing that a phone conversation with treatment recommendations will occur after my rat has been examined.

The biggest suggestion I have if you're new to vet appointments is to get as much information about treatment and medication as possible. For respiratory issues, vets usually say "here's an antibiotic, give your rat X ml twice a day" but they don't give your specifics. Always ask for the following information;

1) Your rat's exact weight in grams.

2) Name of medication(s). Ask them to spell it. Write it down.

3) The dose amount (how many milligrams of medicine per kilogram of your rat's weight). This should be a number followed by "mg/kg." For example, your vet might prescribe 10 mg/kg of enrofloxacin for your rat who weighs 324 grams. If you don't understand what your vet is telling you, just ask them "How many milligrams per kilogram?" and they should be able to give you a simple number. Write it down.