Rat Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still pretty new to owning rats and I'd like to hear your stories about owning rats. I've read about RatDaddy and his shoulder rat Fuzzy, but as he says, that's the exception not the rule. How much do your rats "interact" with you, and what should I really expect from them?

When I first heard the phrase "trust training" I thought it sounded like a great idea but I've read a little about it and it seems like we've already kinda done a lot of that without knowing what it was called. All our rats are excited to see us when we go to the cage, they all come out onto us, they take treats and will eat them whilst sitting on our laps, and they all enjoy playing with us, but... It's pretty unusual for any of them to let us "pet" them. :(

They're all still pretty young, born October 1st, so maybe that will change in time or is it something that I need to keep working at, am I doing something wrong?

Here's an example of how my rats interact with me.
This morning I went to their cage and they were all out and about and playful. I said "hello" in my usual way, talking to them and letting them sniff and lick my fingers thoroughly before playing "I'm gonna catchya!" for a little while. After this we went through to where we have our free ranging time and spent maybe 40 minutes playing and exploring before I started to get drowsy (the joys of painkillers). Previously I would just take their whole cage through and sit it on the floor, letting them come out and go back as they please, but we just got them their new, far bigger cage and I can't carry it so I have to carry the rats through instead. This was the first time I'd taken them through to free range on my own since we got the new cage and I suddenly realised that I didn't have anyone to help me try to corral 5 squirmy rats and put them back. Oops!