Rat Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya,

I've been doing a bit of research into keeping just the one pet rat, and 99% of the material out there says that you need at least a pair for them to be happy, unless you can devote a lot of time to being your rats sole source of company. I personally think that I fit into that category of someone who spends a lot of time with their pet, as she spends all my waking hours either sleeping in my sleeve or sitting on my shoulder, under my shirt. We play a lot together, and the fact that I'm self employed and work from home means that we are hardly ever apart, plus she often comes with me when I go grocery shopping or have to head out to meet clients, so I think she's going to be okay as a solo rat.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Hello, there!
Im a newbie rat owner myself. At first I thought about having only one rat, but after doing my research I ended up buying two, which didn't last long, after discovering that my two boys were in fact, a male and a female, and are now separated untill Cornélio is old enough to be neutered.
Anyway, the thing is, that even if you spend lots of time with your pet rat, there are still rat behavious which you will, unfortunatelly, never be able to mimic, such as grooming, sleeping together all the time, wrestling, etc.
I've read on the forum cases of owners who had a rat living by themselves, and everything went well. I saw someone once saying how literally every hour that they were free, the rat was with them. This is what the user RatDaddy said in the thread I made here in the forums a couple of weeks ago:

To clarify one point, lone rats can bond with a human family and live a happy life... but this is a real hardship on the human family. It means spending just about every waking minute with your rat.