Rat Forum banner

To spay or not to spay?

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the deal. I'm a married college student living in an apartment with my husband, and we're going to get two (maybe three) rats for Christmas. We'll be getting two females, maybe adding a male down the line a bit.

It is my understanding, based on information here and on other forums, that it is advisable to spay female rats to reduce the risk of mammary tumors. However, I've seen other opinions. I've seen lots of people saying that it helps, I've seen people say that the study was bunk, I've seen people say that the risks of the surgery outweigh the risks of the tumors.

Spays in general are expensive, and $256.34 from the only exotics vet that's close is hard on the bank account. I really want to be able to give my rats the best life possible, so if it's necessary, I will find a way to do it, but I need to know that spays are worth it first.

Is it worth it to spay female rats?

·
Registered
47 Posts
I have to say, my sister has always had females and never a mammary tumor and never a spay. A friend of mine had a spayed female and a mammary tumor. The two females I have ever lost went from pneumonia complications from advanced Myco. None of my current girls are spayed (I'm a grad student, I totally understand your money woes). I know that in the dog world, people are starting to shy away from spays (those that are very concerned about their dogs) as they worry about having to put their pups under for any reason.

Does anyone have the study a la mammary tumors?

·
Registered
745 Posts
The anesthesia risk is somewhat overhyped, I think. Or possibly a carryover from days gone by when we didn't have as good of veterinary care for our rats as we do today.