Rat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I think most of us would agree that Harlan Teklad is THE BEST food you can buy for your ratties but there are rattie moms and dads that may need an alternative, so I thought it would be helpful if we could compile a list of the Top 3-5 brands of food to feed our ratties! The information is spread all around the forums but I like lists. They are succinct thus making information easier to read and process.

Instructions: List what you think are the top 3-5 brands. Number the brands in descending order if you have one, otherwise omit the numbers. List why you think it is a top brand, via the pros. consequently, list any cons (nutrition is most important; however, factors such as price and accessability should be considered). Also list any sources of purchace you are aware of (online, snail mail, phone, store etc.) to buy these brands.

I am not an expert but I'll try to offer what information I've picked up

Name: Harlan Teklad
Pros: Harlan Teklad is the top brand that is specifically made for rats. It has the best overall nutrition for your rats.
Cons: It is not sold in most pet stores, and it has a shelf life of approx. 6 months if frozen.
Purchase Information: you can buy it directly from teklad.com with a min purchace of 100$. You can buy it in smaller portions at Kim's Ark, theratshop.com, ratzrealm.com, or craftyrat.com

Name: Nutro Natural Choice Lite
Pros: It contains similar nutritional values to H. Teklad, and it is easily found in chain pet stores.
Cons: it is made for dogs rather than rats. It must be fed with a grain mix, which is an additional expense but the ratties love it ;)
Purchase Information: it is found in pet stores such as Petco and Petsmart

Name: Mazuri
Pros: actually made for rodents
Cons: the protein % is a bit higher than the recommended %
Purchase Information: found at pet store chains.