Rat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! So... I'm totally new to rats, I have a rabbit, I've had a family of 5 degus, I've had cats, dogs, and birds... but I just recently adopted an abandoned rat that was found in the street. The lucky girl was so sweet and cute she was actually able to beg for food around a bar. She was picked up and brought back to health and then later gave birth to 3 healthy babies.

Unfortunately the mom died just a few weeks after I got her... I have no idea how old she was or if she may have gotten an infection from being outside... She did have a large part of her tail chopped off, a toe missing and a gash on her cheek, but she was cuddly and very caring for her young.

Thankfully the babies are now 4 weeks and a half and are growing very fast, they are weaned and have been handled all their life so they just love cuddles. I've already found loving homes for 2 of them, and will be keeping one.

I'm here so I can seek advice, this being my first rat and me being a crazy person who spoils her animals a lot, I wanna know how to spoil them in a non hurtful way, and I wanna make sure I do good with my first rat. YAY!

·
Registered
672 Posts
First of all, thank you for saving mama rat and caring for her and her babies. However, you should keep all three or two of the same sex and find home for single rat with people with other rats. Rats are very social beings and don't do well alone for the most part. Do u know what sexes they are? they are close to being sexual mature so you Would need to separate soon.

·
Registered
672 Posts
Welcome to the forum btw, there is a on of really useful information in the forum section, open each topic and read the sticky sections.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·