Rat Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to rats and have only had my rat, Theodore, for a few days. I am completely obsessed and in love and am so eager to learn new things. I got him from a great breeder and he's very socialized, friendly, and seems to love being handled. Although admitantly, he does seem a bit out of control! He is very curious and loves to run around a lot when he's out, but I would really love to have some boundaries for safety.

The first one being to teach him to come when called. What is the best way to do this? Any advice on what treats work best when training this? Should you give them treats each time, or just some of the time when you call them?

Also he is very squirmy and although he comes up to me costantly when he is out exploring, he doesn't like to sit still for more than a minute or two. I'm guessing this is because he is young and impatient, but I would like to try and teach him that sometimes it's play time and sometimes it's just cuddle time. When I try to contain him a bit more, he will occasionally nip, which I don't like. I'm not squeezing him or anything of the like... more like just when he is sitting on my lap he decides he wants to run like a maniac again and I put my hand up to block him from running a certain direction after doing this a couple of times he will nip my hand and run past me as I pull away. It's not a hard bite, just a little nip. He seems to know it's the perfect way to get what he wants which is to run and play! He'll then come right back and run across my lap 2 seconds later and kiss my face, so it's not like has an issue with being around me.

Sorry for all the questions, just want to make sure I am doing everything right that I can! :)

·
Registered
368 Posts