Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to this forum and more ignorant than I thought about rats and their care. My rat is in the veterinarians office right now having a mammory tumor removed (benign) .

Does anyone know of advice for aftercare. We love her.

I found out at that time, that rats of her type only have about a 3 year lifespan, which makes me sad.

I had a rat who lived to 10 and grew to the size of a house cat. Apparently we have a different breed/species .

Does anyone know what I might have had?

Also we have another rat purchased at the same time as the other, is there anything we can do to avoid her from the same condition?

·
Registered
2,160 Posts
rats don't live to be 10, at best they will live to be 3 & on very rare occasions they might go further but the typical pet store rat will live approximately 2 to 3 yrs

unless I see a pic I couldn't guess but even the Gambian Pouch Rat doesn't live to be ten. They live to be 6 to 8 yrs old

***edited to add this link to an animated gif
http://www.80stoysale.com/images/stormydance.gif

BTW... they aren't legal to have in the US anymore so if you have one of these awesome creatures.... MUMMMs the word... shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
Spaying definitely lowers the risk of mammary tumors.

House cat sized rats do smack of Gambians, though the lifespan would be quite long.

·
Registered
2,755 Posts
spaying will reduce the risk of a hormonal tumor which is what most tumors are on females. the age of the rat when you have it done will dictate how great a reduced risk that is. though having it done at nearly any time in their lives will reduce the risk somewhat. the rule though is, the earlier the spay the greater the health benefits. your vet will be able to tell you how much the decreased risk will be if you can give him an approximate age of your rat.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·