Rat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So Turvy developed an ear infection and a head title along with it. She's been on antibiotics for the infection and steriods for the head tilt that stayed even after the infection was cleared. I had her back to the vet yesterday for a re-check on the head tilt.
He said the title may be permanent and eventually, she'll adjust.

But her balance sucks since the head title. She has taken a number of falls in the age. Thankfully, those falls didn't include any injuries. But she's certainly more hesitant now (she was always very active... almost frantic).

Does anyone have an experience with this? Is there anything I can do to help her?

Registered
oh dear, so sorry to hear Turvy is not well. I have no experience, I wish I could help. It must be like a kid who just doesn't understand they can't climb that jungle gym or chase their friends on the playground anymore 馃槦

Reactions: lfraser06

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oh dear, so sorry to hear Turvy is not well. I have no experience, I wish I could help. It must be like a kid who just doesn't understand they can't climb that jungle gym or chase their friends on the playground anymore 馃槦

Yep - it's a lot like that!

I probably should lower their cage to just the one level ..... but that's not fair to either her or Gigi. So I'm not quite sure what to do. They mainly sleep on the upper level and their litterbox, food and water are all on the lower level. I have put a fleecy hide on the lower level for Turvy - but then she misses cuddling with Gigi.

Registered