Rat Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone ! I am very new to rats and have just got mine. 1 I have had for about a week and the other I got yesterday (she was the first ones cage mate and I went t pick her up). They let me pick them up although they seem a little bit frightened when I do. I cuddle with them and they fall asleep in my scarf or a blanket with me at night but when I put my hand in the cage during the day (when they're just laying in the corner together, calm) to pet them or pick them up to play, they sniff my hand and crawl on it a bit and then bite me ? They're little so it doesn't hurt ... but this is not acceptable behaviour to me and I definitely don't want rats that bite, especially when they get older and are able to bite a lot harder. What do I do about this ? I really don't like it and I read a lot about rats before I got them. I read that they RARELY bite and they don't seem afraid because they crawl on my hands and sniff my fingers before they bite me so how could it be out of fear ? Any long time rat owners know what to do about this ? I want the cuddly, smart little animals I read about :( I seem to have very bad luck with animals even though I do my research and treat them like gold ...

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
They are young and just like a kitten or puppy, they are playing and testing their limits. If they bite you say 'NO' to them like you mean it. You will need to do this for a while until they are aware you do not like their teeth on you. You can also tap them on the nose gently while saying 'no' if you need to. Having said this, my girls put their teeth on me frequently. It does not hurt, it is just their way of grooming me like they would a cage mate. This is natural behavior and really should not be discouraged as it is how they form bonds with each other and you. The only real biting that should be discouraged is if there is a wound happening.

·
Registered
629 Posts