Rat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I adopted 2 females yesterday... One of the females was in a tank of males, I'm totally new to rats and I'm afraid she may be pregnant, I mean the chances are super high that she is right? Shes about 6 weeks old. I have no idea what to do, or how to tell. Advice is greatly appreciated!!

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
First, take a deep breath! :lol:

I currently have a litter.......my first one, and it's an "oops" litter. So, I'll let you know what i've picked up.

1. Since you currently have two females (positive?) you won't need to worry about separating them just yet. I've read instances where people have left two females together through the whole thing; however, other females in the cage with the mommy might steal the babies.

2. SHE MIGHT NOT BE PREGNANT! I've read that male and female get pregnant quicker than the speed of light but this wasn't the case in my experience. Ostrich (my male) developed pretty late, and they were together quite a bit longer than six weeks old. Perhaps it took longer because of Ostrich and his late development.

OPTIONS!

1. you can get an e-spay. this is an emergency spay. an e-spay is a sure way to avoid an unwanted litter, as it terminates the pregnancy if there is one. I don't have personal experience with this but i've heard they can be costly (but so is a litter of ratties)

2. you can play the waiting game but have a few hundred set aside for the litter. If she is pregnant then you'll have the money to get the supplies you need for the litte ratties. If she isn't then you'll still have all of your money but it's a gamble really.

Rats have a gestation period of 21 days. Some rats wait up until the 23rd day but you should be prepared by the 19th or 20th. average litter sizes are 8-12, and first litters tend to be smaller (even though my rattie had 15 her first litter)

PREGNANCY SIGNS