Rat Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Referring to the people who use bedding, not liners.
I'm thinking carefresh because it was my go to brand with my 3 hamsters. What do you guys think?

·
Registered
908 Posts
I've heard the paper-based litters (not the pelleted kind, but the fluffy kind) can get smelly fast. That said, I've never tried them myself. I used shredded aspen with a thin layer of horse stall pellets underneath. The pellets absorb pee / water and the layer of aspen keeps the rats dry and away from the soiled pellet dust. I've been using this combo for about 2 years and have no issues with respiratory problems, etc. The bedding will go about 1 wee - 2 weeks before I need to do a complete change. I used horse stall pellets in their litter pans.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmm I see what you mean. I'm not so much bothered by smells though. I plan on having them use a litter tray, and I'll probably get a pee rock for them to encourage them to pee in there rather than the bedding. Where can you get horse stall pellets? I live in a small town where a lot of people live on farms so would they have that in a store?

·
Registered
908 Posts
Do you have feed stores or tractor supply company? They sell them there. I get mine at TSC and they are cheap ($6 for a 40lb bag). Be wary though, I have ever gotten a bag with what looks like dust in the bag (they are clear, so you can see the inside). I would avoid any such bags as they've already been exposed to moisture and might harbor mold spores. The bags should have little to no dust in them when you buy them.