Rat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well my little Boo Boo got congetsted, so i went to the vets. He gave me Baytril, but by day 12 my rat relapsed and the meds are not strong enough. I asked for Amoxil, they dont have it, i asked for cefadroxil, they dont have it 8O so they are going to give me Chlorphalm. What is Chlorphalm??? Is it strong enough? Is it ok for rats?

I have been researching ABS for rats for a few months now and never came across Chlorphalm.....

She is getting worse, the Baytril isnt doing anything for her right now, and its easter so i cant get the ABS till Tuesday, so that gives me time to research my options.

If anyone knows what this ABS is PLEASE enlighten me!!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Re: living in a small town is NOT fun (URI and no ABS)

I just googled Cholorpham and I'm not exactly sure what it is?

Maybe you can ask your vet to give you a printout of what it is and then you can go from there to see if it is a good antibiotic for rats.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Re: living in a small town is NOT fun (URI and no ABS)

Imagine_That said:
I just googled Cholorpham and I'm not exactly sure what it is?

Maybe you can ask your vet to give you a printout of what it is and then you can go from there to see if it is a good antibiotic for rats.
Yes i tried, but they are not really rat friendly, they rushed me and i managed to get them to spell out the ABS at least.

I do have a few options, i may be able to get cefadroxil at the other clinic, i just have to tell a little white lie :wink: and say my cat sounds a little congested.

Or i can see if my pet store has any amoxcil, if not i can get them off the internet. I just need a fast option because my rat is stable, but i feel sorry for her because she is congested and the URI will probably create more complications as i wait longer to see which option to go for.

·
Registered
3,509 Posts