Rat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello... I'm still kind of new to rat owning so I don't know about this kind of stuff yet, bare with me.

One of my 10 m/o male rats (out of 6) has been having noisy breathing for about a week and a half now. Some days it seemed better, but recently it sounds a bit worse and more constant than it had been.

I've been taking him to the steamy bathroom, feeding him dark chocolate, making him echinacea tea, too. The steam helps temporarily and he doesn't like the chocolate anymore. He's also the only adult to not like to eat Booster, of course. :/

I adopted him 3 months ago, and out of his 2 brothers he is extremely skiddish and hates being picked up or even touched, he'll fear poop. I spend time with them every day but it makes no difference. I believe he's close to being blind, and not mentally healthy, he self barbers for no reason and is just... kind of weird acting compared to everyone else.

So I've avoided taking him to the vet, and also because I took my other baby rat to the vet due to the same thing a few weeks ago and he was 100% better on his own the next day before I could even give him his Baytril (I still gave him the week's dose). I took him because his noisy breathing was nonstop, but this guy's isn't, so I thought he may get over it himself.
Also a vet visit + Baytril is $80+ here... and means 6 hours of driving there and home because I live very far away from my rat vet. No closer vet will see a rat.

So I'm just wondering; is it guaranteed he will develop pneumonia if I do not take him? Is there a chance he'll get better on his own? His behaviour is unchanged, except for the fits of clicky/wheezy breathing. He'll sneeze/cough and it will stop. He doesn't even have any porphyrin whatsoever.

Thank you. :(

·
Registered
358 Posts