Rat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to owning rats and got my first two girls yesterday, who are settling into a temporary cage until I have bought a new one.

I am in the UK and most pet stores don't have good size cages, the few that do charge a ridiculous amount and as a result, I have been looking online instead.

The cage that keeps catching my eye is the Savic Royal Suite 95. It seems a decent size but I have a few concerns.

The bar gap is 16mm, is that going to be alright with female rats? They're not huge girls but they aren't tiny, either.

Is it enough room for them? I have seen larger cages but for two girls, just how much space do they need? The measurements are L95 x W63 x H120cm without the wheeled base.

So keen to order a cage but want to get advice/tips first.

·
Registered
953 Posts
Thats a very nice cage. Plenty big enough for a couple girls, and lots of extra room if you ever added to your mischief. Even tiny girls should not be able to go through the bars. To get an idea of what it looks like set up and with rats living in it, check out the sticky thread of critter nation cages. It's the same size and bar spacing. Pretty close to the same cage.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh! Thank you for responding. I had a look at the thread of Critter Nation cages like you suggested, very similar. It's certainly helped give me an idea of what it would be like, a little more. :)

·
Registered
863 Posts
I'm not sure if Martin's ships to the UK, but it might be paying the extra cost for shipping as their cages are very high quality and spacious.

·
Registered
918 Posts
The Savic Royal Suite 95 is top of the line here in Europe. I got it for my 3 girls I'll be getting.

It's a HUGE cage and opens up fully in the front. If you can afford it I recommend it.

·
Registered
1,786 Posts