Rat Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've made some improvement bonding with my new two, Nibbler and Stitch. I've had them over two months now, and Stitch is more willing to lay inside my shirt or on my shoulder. Neither shows any sign of fear of humans or agression of any kind, and I know they're both full of young girl energy. But it still seems like I may as well not exist to them. Both would rather run off and investigate, and all Nibbler wants to do is check out what's behind pillows. Neither will accept a treat. They'll have a home with me as long as they live and I would never treat either of them differently from Nippy's litter, but it feels like we'll never be real friends. I've tried the bonding pouch, but they like running around too much.

·
Registered
335 Posts
I'm new to all this rat stuff so I'm not certainly not an expert. But I've gotta say hang in there. With other small pets I've had it felt like it took FOREVER to get them to that point. I had the same situation with the guinea pigs I used to own. Had them from babies and although they weren't afraid of me or anything like that it just seemed like it took forever to bond with them on any meaningful level. Eventually it happened though...I was persistent and enjoyed the interaction I did have with them and eventually they calmed down with age and were finally able to appreciate the attention I lavished on them.