Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've researched a lot about rat diets, homemade and commercial. But I would like to hear some first-hand experiences with diets. I'd like to know what diets people are feeding their companions, and more than just what the diet contains but how it is fed - the amount and when, etc. This is my first time owning rats - for the time being I have been feeding them Nutro Choice Lite dog food as a staple, with fruits and vegetables and other things fed as a side or as a treat. It seems to be working well, but I want the best for my companions and I am continuing to learn what I can so that I can create a "diet plan" that is the best it can be.

·
Registered
208 Posts
I'm also trying to get my rats diet better. They love almost all fruits they are offered but hardly any veggies. Even veggie baby food they dislike for the most part. In general I feed them lab blocks, they eat them better when they are small peices so I always break them down as small as I can and they eat em!

Igor (single rat with attitude problems) gets about 6 lab blocks a day and about 1/4 cup of dog food in one dish, and in another dish he gets peices of apple, banana and cherries. He gets a few toddler veggie biscuits and two yogi drops for treats, and a spoonful of baby food with baytril twice a day.

The other 3 rats (Sydney, Stanley and Sylvester) get pretty much the same diet, just more of it of course. They also get some pear mixed with their fruit... Igor will have nothing to do with pear.

I'd love to find some veggies they will eat, I've tried carrots, celery, brocoli, corn, green beans, peas. They might eat one or two but they usually toss the 2nd peice down while eating and move on.

·
Registered
1,267 Posts